Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/skagdvd/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
'Skagit' Taper Blanks and Rods
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: 'Skagit' Taper Blanks and Rods  (Read 11942 times)
David_of_Gondor

View Profile Email
« on: December 23, 2010, 08:17:27 PM »

Hello folks,

Been lurking here for a little while but now I'm legit.  As with a lot of folks, skagit style casting and gear was a revelation for my fishing and casting, kudos to the experts.  Anyways, a questions for you folks on skagit style rods.  I'm a rod builder with a fair bit of experience with spey and switch rods so excuse the techy question.  Although its hard to generalize with spey gear, my experience building spey rods suggests that typical (if there is such a thing in the spey world) skagit style blanks have a regressed taper meaning the blank gets 'softer' in stiffness as you approach the butt of the rod rather than stiffer as in a progressive action blank.  This is typical of the Bob Meiser's MKS series and the Loomis Roaring River Dredger series.  So the question, why a regressed taper for skagit style casting and lines?  My understanding is that the 'softer' style blank helps maintain constant rod load during the sweep, thrust and forward stroke but I've never been happy with my own understanding of why this type of blank taper.  Your comments would be appreciated as clear understanding of the reasoning is hepful to me as a builder. 

Dave.

camosled
Administrator

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2010, 04:43:05 PM »