Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/skagdvd/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Dave's Bad Hair Day from SM4
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Dave's Bad Hair Day from SM4  (Read 9176 times)
m04a17

View Profile WWW Email
« on: June 05, 2013, 09:59:59 PM »

I'm loving SM4...I'm still pretty new to the two-handed game so having video instruction set on some of my "local" waters is great.  I tied up a few of the "Bad Hair Day" flies Dave Pinczkowski ties in the video.
Took some swimming today for smallies...I added an Aussie Possum sculpin head à la Kevin Feenstra and some rubber legs.  Worked out pretty good.

camosled
Administrator

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2013, 12:07:28 PM »

Wow.  Your smallies are fat.

Nice tie.  Dave would be proud.

JM

17 th allman bro

View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2013, 04:44:09 PM »

nice bug for shure and a great smallie  to right on. i have made some like that but just used craft fur insted of the possome it makes a lighter fly but sometimes you cant beat the possome.

FK

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2013, 07:29:54 PM »

That is one very nice Smallie, thanks for posting.

A hard fighting & under rated fish.

Regards,
FK

m04a17

View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2014, 11:27:57 AM »

Well, it's been over a year since I first posted this.  Since this time, the Bad Hair Day has become my go-to pattern - my primary flashabou delivery system Shocked.

I do two primary colors - the olive "Eat a Peach" with green and copper flash and a black and blue that I use at first light.  Both have caught steelhead, bass (lots of bass), brown trout and as of this morning a little pike.

The olive fly seems to consistently pull good sized bass out of their holding lies on my home river, when other things won't.